(506) 8474-5292 Bahía Ballena, Costa Rica

Sustainable Information

Dear client: Ballena Infocenter had its beginnings since August 2011 as an idea that came from the owner Paula Ramirez, who hoped to consolidate a tour operator in the area of Bahia Ballena where the main objective was educational marine tourism. This is how she took an entrepreneurship course with FUNDES and MARVIVA where she […]


The entire South Pacific of Costa Rica was inhabited and governed by indigenous tribes, mostly the Brunca Indians, who today inhabit the towns of Boruca, Curré and Térraba. The Boruca are an indigenous tribe of the southern Pacific of Costa Rica, located in the Talamanca Mountains 20 km from the Republic of Panama. It is […]

Corcovado National Park

Corcovado National Park is located in the Osa Peninsula in the South Pacific of the country and is part of the Osa Conservation Area. It was created on October 24, 1975 and comprises an area of 45,757 terrestrial hectares and 5375 marine hectares. The biological diversity is amazing, so much so that National Geographic has […]

Caño Island Biological Reserve

The Caño Island Biological Reserve is located in the Pacific Ocean, in front of Corcovado National Park in the Osa Peninsula, approximately 15 km offshore from the San Pedrillo ranger station. It was created on March 29, 1978 and has an extension of 200 hectares in the terrestrial part and 2,700 hectares in the marine […]

Marino Ballena National Park

Marino Ballena National Park is located in the province of Puntarenas, on the southern Pacific coast of our country. This national park has an extension of 110 terrestrial and 5,375 marine hectares and was created on December 14, 1989. Although the park mainly extends in the maritime area, it also has within its protected areas […]

Bahía Ballena

Bahia Ballena is the fifth district of the canton of Osa, on our South Pacific coast. The district has an area of 160.76 km² and has an estimated population of approximately 3,338 inhabitants. Its main town is Uvita, on the beach of the same name. In addition, the district of Bahia Ballena is the one […]


Osa was created in 1914, as the third canton of the Province of Puntarenas, with the town of Buenos Aires as its capital. This canton originally covered an extensive area (7,623 square kilometers), which meant about 15% of the Costa Rican territory. Currently, Osa has six districts: Ciudad Cortés; Palmar; Sierpe; Piedras Blancas, Drake Bay […]